Legally, yes. But again, that`s not how works in real life. Well, all the high school teachers who are our loyal customers wonder what could force us to tattoo a high school junior tattoo with a tattoo that wouldn`t even fit the school. Plus, Santa Claus is mad at us and will make sure everyone in the city knows we`re idiots, even if we`re not. Heck, even Zander`s friend hates us now because she is only 16 years old and her amygdala is not yet fully developed and she now thinks she has to compare herself to the drawing on her boyfriend`s arm. In some states, no one is allowed to get a face tattoo. In Florida, a grandfather lost custody of his 10-year-old grandson because they had a family tradition of getting their initials tattooed on his right leg at a young age. Yes, parents can give their baby tattoos or piercings if they have a medical or dental reason. Some states do not allow a teenager to get a tattoo or piercing their tongue regardless of parental consent, while other states do not have rules. This means that your teen may be able to enter a salon and get tattooed or pierced without your knowledge. However, getting a tattoo as a minor depends on the condition you are in. Any person under the age of 18 is considered a minor.
Most tattoo artists do not tattoo anyone under the age of 15 or 16 for safety and responsibility reasons. Nowhere in Australia can a minor under the age of 16 be tattooed, even with the consent of a guardian. Since many cultures around the world consider people tattooed before a certain age to be inappropriate, social norms have led most people to not naturally want a tattoo until a certain stage of their lives. In addition to the person or salon who has legal problems when performing a tattoo on a misrepresented minor, the authorities can also take drastic measures against your family if you misstate your age or do not go through the right legal channels to obtain a tattoo. We don`t need that anger. Also, the science of brain development, which we discussed in a previous blog post, is pretty clear that we can stay out of many others` bad decisions if we simply don`t tattoo minors. Oklahoma only legalized tattooing in 2006 and was the last state to do so. Even if the authorities don`t take action against you for falsely making a statement about your age in order to get tattooed, you could potentially face a backlash from society. In all jurisdictions, individual tattoo artists may also impose additional restrictions based on their own moral feelings, such as rejecting clients under a certain age, even with parental consent, even if it is legal, or restricting the type and/or place where they are willing to tattoo (e.g., reject any work around inappropriate body parts). They may also refuse to perform certain works of art, even if they simply find it inappropriate or offensive, or refuse to work on a client they suspect is intoxicated. Artists sometimes claim that their personal business restrictions are a matter of law, even if it`s not true, to avoid conflicts with customers. Depending on where you live, a minor – someone under the age of 18 – can get tattooed or pierced without your consent.
Each state sets its own rules for body art, so you need to know the law in your area. There are at least 24 states where a 14-year-old can be legally tattooed. Note: The information on this page is provided for reference purposes for state legislators and legislative staff. If you have a question about tattooing or piercing, please contact your local or state environmental health department. Each state has developed its own laws and regulations over the years (see below for a list of laws by state), and there are some states where a minor can legally get tattooed or pierced if their parents or guardians sign a written document giving consent to a minor. Thirty-eight states have laws that allow tattooing of minors with the informed consent of parents or in the presence of the parent. However, this does not mean that a baby can simply crawl and get tattooed. In some countries such as Austria, Croatia, Cyprus, Germany, France, Ireland, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia and the Netherlands, young adults can get tattooed or pierced at the age of 16+. In most cases, the written consent of the parents, as well as the presence of the parents during the procedure, are required. In most states, if a tattoo is found on a minor as young as 14, authorities will investigate and could prosecute anyone who got the tattoo.
Not all, but many states have specific requirements regarding tattoos and piercing for teens or minors. For example, ear piercing is legal for minors, but it can only be done with parental consent, as well as in the presence during the piercing process. In order for you to be as knowledgeable as possible, we will review each state`s laws and see what current laws require for tattooing and piercing on minors and teens. As a country, Canada does not have a national minimum age to get tattooed. Instead, they left that decision to individual provinces. Some states, such as Arizona, Louisiana, Virginia, and Wyoming, require you to have a parent or guardian to present the entire process if you are a minor and want to get a tattoo. So why does the government care about the age at which a person gets a tattoo? If you are at a young age and getting tattooed, it could lead people in society to see you as someone who does not participate socially and shames you as an outsider to the group. In all cases, parental consent is required, the parent or guardian must be present during the tattoo, and in some cases, a doctor is required to perform the tattoo or be present. Before you start planning your tattoo, familiarize yourself with the regulations of the state where you want to get a tattoo. This is for the safety of the minor and the tattoo artist. California law requires a person to be at least 18 years old to get a legal tattoo. In fact, according to Criminal Code 653 PC, it is a crime to “ink” or give a tattoo to a minor under the age of 18.
The Ministry of Health recommends obtaining parental consent for people under the age of 19, but it is not a law.